My turn, plz critique my build

LiuKang

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2007
Never bothered to build my own machines, so I figured I'd take a crack at it... This will also be my OCing guinea pig.

- Lian Li PC-75Bk Aluminum Server Tower Case
- EVGA Nforce 680I SLI LGA775 Conroe ATX
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 (& Zalman 9700 to keep it cool)
- OCZ Platinum XTC REV.2 PC2-6400 4GB 4X1GB DDR2-800
- MSI NX7900 GeForce 7900 GTO 650MHZ PCI-E 512MB 1.32GHZ DDR3
- Western Digital Raptor X 150GB
- Western Digital SE16 500GB (x2)
- Silverstone Strider ST75F 750W ATX12V 24PIN (mmm... modular)

I'm an independant consultant, so I work from home a lot. I'd rather not have too many machines as space in my office is limitted. I will be running it as both a gaming and work rig (dual boot). I will RAID the 500 giggers and have them run whatever software/testing environment I need for work, while the Raptor will run XP.

I used to run 3 monitors, but one of them crapped out, so I might run a second video card to handle additional monitors and SLI in the future. For now, I'd rather save my cash and wait to see how DX10 cards progress.

I will mate this to all my existing peripherals... dual 19" flatrons, pixma 830 etc.

Any and all feedback is appreciated. TIA.

RJ

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2004
Never bothered to build my own machines, so I figured I'd take a crack at it... This will also be my OCing guinea pig.

- Lian Li PC-75Bk Aluminum Server Tower Case
- EVGA Nforce 680I SLI LGA775 Conroe ATX
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 (& Zalman 9700 to keep it cool)
- OCZ Platinum XTC REV.2 PC2-6400 4GB 4X1GB DDR2-800
- MSI NX7900 GeForce 7900 GTO 650MHZ PCI-E 512MB 1.32GHZ DDR3
- Western Digital Raptor X 150GB
- Western Digital SE16 500GB (x2)
- Silverstone Strider ST75F 750W ATX12V 24PIN (mmm... modular)