For those who are waiting: E4400 or E6320?

adnoto

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2007
Hello all,

Total noob here. I will be building my first rig in the next few weeks and I have been lurking and reading up as much as possible (here and other sites) but I wanted to pose a few questions to you all and see what the consensus might be.

I will be needing two new computers and I have already decided to build a "budget" rig first, centered around the E4300, which I will end up giving to my girlfriend after the Q2 new issues and price drops. The plan being to then build another rig with a step up in processor.

As of now my plans for the second rig look like this:

CPU: E4400 or E6320
mobo: Gigabyte DS3 (or potentially a "better" one if prices drop significantly)
RAM: 2 gigs of some quality DDR2 800 (leaning toward Corsair)
HDD: WD or Seagate 250 or 320 gig
CPU cooler: undecided but leaning towards a Scythe Inf.
Video card: undecided but hopefully an 8800 gts if the prices come down some more
PSU: Corsair 520 or their 6** model
DVD burner, case with a couple 120mm fans, etc.

I do want to try overclocking both computers but, wrt the second rig, if I only wanted to overclock using stock voltages or moderately higher voltages which would be the easiest to work with, between the E4400 and the E6320, and produce the most bang per buck, less heat, etc? Not really understanding benchmark performance differences as they relate to real world experience I guess I really would just want to push to CPU to get what I can from it with out stressing it or the overall system too much.

Because of what I have read so far, I am leaning toward the E4400 and am wondering if the cache difference is really a big deal performance wise. Also if they come out at the same time and the "market value" of each is such that there isn't a significant price difference (like the E6300 and E4300 are now), would there be any reason to get the E4400?