First Homebuilt - Please review

Stronghold

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2005
Background

I would like to build a new gaming machine, specifically for EVE Online - any other games are fine, but EVE is my main reason for building the machine in the first place.

This is my FIRST attempt at building a machine from the ground up. Below are the parts I assembled. Bear in mind I haven't shopped out the best prices yet as I'm wanting to make sure I pick compatible, adequate parts first.

For those that are more into this than I am, I'd appreciate any thoughts or feedback, especially if I've miscalculated something critical that would result in the machine not working at all. Right now (without rebates and shipping added in), I'm at about $1,300. I'd like to knock that down a bit more, but I realize you have to pay for a decent gaming rig.

I'd like to get a flat screen monitor and speakers, but if I can't shake the $1,300 area, I'll probably just use an old CRT monitor and speakers I have from my other Dell.

CPU

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Conroe 2.13GHz 2M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail

Motherboard

GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3 LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard

Graphics Card

EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card

Power Supply

Corsair HX Series CMPSU-620HX 620W Power Supply

Memory

G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL4D-2GBPK - Retail

or...

OCZ OCZ2A8002GK 2GB Kit DDR2 PC2-6400 ATI CrossFire Dual Channel Memory Retail

Hard Drive

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Optical Drive

LG 18X DVD±R Super-Multi DVD Burner With 12X DVD-RAM Write Black IDE Model GSA-H42N-BK - OEM

Sound Card

Using on-board audio - will upgrade later if I become more of an audiophile.

Case

Sunbeam Transformer IC-TR-B Blue Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail

$1334.32