Blue Orb II

G

Im going to be purchasing a C2D E6600 in the next few weeks and i will be looking at overclocking it. i am new to overclocking and will be using a guide on here to go through the process.

my question is, how will the Thermaltake Blue Orb II hold up for overclocking this cpu? im not sure where this heatsink sits in terms of quality in comparison to some of the others ive seen listed on this site.

chenBrazil

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2006
Tuniq tower cooler would be a perfect match for extreme OC, specially if you ae not intent to move your pc a lot...as it is heavy ...

Mondoman

Splendid
Except, of course, that vertical tower style cooler like the Tuniq don't blow air down onto the MB and out in all directions, providing cooling to the north bridge, PWM components, any radiators/heat sinks around the CPU, etc. Blue/Golden Orb, Zalman 7700, OEM Intel, etc *do* provide this cooling. Whether or not lack of such cooling will cause problems depends on the MB design and on your case design and cooling.

Felopian_Turtle

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2006
If the blue orb II is anything like the TT ruby orb then stay away!!
I'd go with a Thermalright SI-128, provides cooling to the NB with your choice of a 120mm, why deal with loud proprietary fans.

m25

Distinguished
May 23, 2006
Zalman is the master in this type of coolers (think they even patented the shape but others shamelessly cloned it). Besides having the same problem with the mounting position and motherboard compatibility, it should also be louder than a Zalman.

SPARTAN-117

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2006
I have the Blue Orb II and its the quietest cooler in my PC. Its also one of the best coolers you can buy, although installation can be a problem. It well worth the $30 price tag and IMO it can't be beat. My HDD's are louder than that thing so its pretty quiet.

Hope this helps.

G

thanks everyone. helps a lot spartan. im glad i got a comment from someone that uses one.