Sign in with
Your question

Newbie in need of help

Last response: in Systems
February 21, 2007 6:04:53 PM

I'm a potential buyer for a homebuilt computer. And I'm also a newbie. The more that I read from these forums the more I get freaked out with the potential of problems with a homebuilt. I continually hear that homebuilt is the way to go (and I agree) but I'm scared that I'm getting into something that will be way too complicated.

I can already hear some of you saying "Then buy a stock Dell and get outta here!". Well, I don't want to do that because you have convinced me that homebuilt is the way for many reasons.

I need some help with this whole situation from the first step to the last step...

HotFoot helped me in the other forum in recommending parts to go with for my budget. Thanks HotFoot!

This is what he said:

Components recommendation:

Case Rosewill R604-P $29.99
PSU Enermax EG495AX-VE $89.99
CPU E6300 $185
Mobo MSI P965 Neo-F $89.99
RAM G.SKill 2x1GB DDR2 667 $144.99
Video Card Sapphire X1950XT $229.99
OD ASUS 16x w/Litescribe $33.49
OS WinXP Home OEM w/Vista coupon $89.99

Total: $893.43

Would you all agree with his choices? I have a budget of about $900 and I play only a few games here and there... (NWN2 especially) I have a HD, a monitor, and a sound card and speakers.

ANY help would be really appreciated!!! -Pots

I've posted in the other section on this site (the wrong section!):

http://forumz.tomshardware.com/hardware/Desktop-Help-ftopict224771.html

More about : newbie

February 21, 2007 6:14:27 PM

Yep, seems like a good value build. The MSI board is very no-frills, but I'd say it's got everything you need. It'll run NWN2 quite nicely. Great game, btw, I never got around to finishing the campaign before I built a new machine and forgot to rescue my save files.

On a slightly unrelated note, do you know of any good NWN2 multiplayer servers? I haven't tried multiplayer NWN2 at all, but the original was pretty fun.