Total noobie builder needs a MB recommendation please!

djironic

Distinguished
Feb 21, 2007
Alright, I'm a total noob when it comes to building computers, and while I think I've got a handle on most of the components, buying the right motherboard is just the most intimidating part for me. I'm really freaking out on this one. So I'm hoping you guys can help.

The rest of the rig will look something like this:

C2D processor - 6300 or 6400
550 Watt Antec PS
2 7200 rpm HDs in Raid 1
1 Raptor HD (possible)
2X1GB RAM (667 or 800)
8800 GTS 340 video card
DVD Burner
Aluminum Case (for cooling and mobility)
Windows Vista (most likely, though might stick with XP)

I'll mostly be using the computer for games and web development, but I do want to begin to dabble in the wild and wacky world of OCing, so having some low-key and user-friendly OC capabilities would be nice. I don't know much about cooling and such, so I'll probably rely on stock cooling at first (and keep the OCing small) until I get a feel for it.

The budget is around $200 (though cheaper is better, especially if I wind up breaking it!) and Firewire compatability is a must, too (for digital video piped in from my camcorder).

Mostly, I want a motherboard that is rock solid, as I really don't know what I'm doing and don't have a lot of time (or skill) to trial-and-error a whole lot of problems. Future-proofing would be nice, too, as I'm sure I will want to continually upgrade the system.

Any suggestions on a good MB for this rig?

jajonez77

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2007
I just built a system and went with the ASUS P5B Deluxe. It seemed to be stable and a good overclocker from all the research that I did (and it was a lot). It was $194 at newegg. The parts just came today so I will be building when I get home :D so I dont have any real world experience to give. But, If you look up and down these boards I didn't see anyone that has said it was terrible.

akhilles

Splendid