My 1st overclock ever :) E4300 on Gigabyte 965P-DS3

djhopps

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2007
Hi all - newbie 2nd time poster :D

I have just completed my first succesful overclock ever! Hurrah! I've got my E4300 running at 3.15 (9x350fsb) at a slight .05v bump. My 2gb (2x1gb) Geil ULL DDR2-6400 RAM is running at a 1:1 divider at 700Mhz (its actually rated for 800mhz so no probs there) at 2.1v. Timings are 15 4 4 4 if I remember correctly. Kinda chuffed as I have never done this O/C business before - super speedy PC and a £100 CPU running at near-as-damnit X6800 performance!

I have a question though - have any users out there got the same (revision 2) Gigabyte motherboard and CPU as me *GA 965P-DS3* who can recommend some BIOS settings which will help push my E4300 further? It would be cool to get both cores running at 3.5Gig!

I'm running on a Thermalright Ultra 120 coolers, Antec P180, Hiper 580W modular PSU and XFX 7950GX2 1Gb GFX Card. I've only tried clocking the CPU so far....

Cheers, FoX

mega1268

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2007
hey man i got the same setup as you minus the ram. i have gskill ram. Can you post your current settings.

Edit. im needing help on my voltage settings i think.

sarsoft

Distinguished
Nov 8, 2006
You have it running at 3.15GHz. Do you have it stable at that speed? Did you run stress test for cpu like Orthos or dual Prime 95 or memtest86+ (for ram) to see if its stable.

ox1574

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2007
I have the DS3 and E4300 as well. Can you please tell me exactly what settings you are running on the mother board under the MIT menu. I need exact voltage increases for each option.

Thanks

djhopps

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2007
Hi, no, I haven't put it through any stress tests yet. Have you any guidelines as to how long to let these tests run? I'm not that concerned however as I've been playing games constantly for the last week or so and not a sign of any problems!