Sign in with
Your question

Resources! Experts, we need your help!

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
February 24, 2007 1:48:35 AM

I don't post much, but I've been watching these forums' professionalism, expertise, and knowledge get gradually diluted into obscurity and ignorance by novices for over five years now.

Disclosure: I am no expert in microelectronics myself.

However, I used to be able to go to the community of THG for answers when I needed them. Now I can't. Why? If I ask a question, it will be answered by fellow novices (most of the time) and the thread will become overlooked.

I suspect that the dwindling population of experts on this forum (crashman, wusy, et al) don't bother weighing in because they've answered the same blasted questions so many times they've give up. Unfortunately for the unenlightened and unstudied, the "search" function isn't nearly as helpful as we wish it were.

So what's the answer? We need solid resources. And like most honest pieces of knowlege (these days), they should be present -- free of charge -- online. Where are they? I, for one, work 80 hours a week and don't have time to find out like I wish I did.

What we need are particularly useful stickies. Wusy was kind enough to make a C2D overclocking guide. But what if you're an adult novice computer user with a woman (or man) and/or a job.. AND an nVidia chipset? No help there.

What a lot of us are lacking are fundamentals. If someone could read a solid article or body of text explaining the CONCEPTS of Wusy's guide, then it should be recognized and advertised for all on this forum. An article, so complete and essentially fundamental, that any user -- regardless of their socket, processor, or chipset -- would have at least a good idea of how to set a healthy OC configuration in their BIOS, is what each of these forums needs. That goes for HD issues, GPU issues, RAM issues... all of it.