Sign in with
Your question

ethernet LAN mixed-speed setup

Last response: in Networking
November 13, 2006 4:08:37 PM

This is my first time on Forumz, so please be patient. I run a 25-user peer-to-peer LAN that grew by accretion from a 6-user LAN, with an odd mixture of hubs / switches / NICs throughout. It's ethernet, mostly 10/100 and CAT5e cables. Our "server" is a LAN-HD for 'common' (shared work & reference) files, which also gets me past the 10-user limit imposed by Windows XP-Pro. Recently some of my users have complained about retrieve/resave slowness on the LAN-HD, so I had a thought - but before I spend a bunch of money, please advise me if I'm grossly wrong, and thanks in advance.

IF the Main Switch and LAN-HD were 10/100/1000 (gigabit) connected w/ CAT6 cables, would all the 10/100 users 'share the bandwidth' and get improved speed? Or would the Switch and/or LAN-HD get 'dumbed down' to 10/100, resulting in NO speed increase?

I recognize that CAT5e cables have a limit of 350Mb/s, so if all LAN devices including sub-switches & NICs must be 10/100/1000, my users could at least have a 3.5x speed improvement. But I'd like to know in advance if it's going to be $600 or $2,000 (or more!) to achieve this.
November 13, 2006 5:55:53 PM

Your layout may be too complicated or Rube Goldbergesque to give simple answers.

Basically, all clients attached to a hub share the bandwidth, whereas with a switch, client a talking with client b takes no bandwitch away from client c talking with client d.

If you have mixed-speed clients (some 10 and some 100), the first thing I might do is pitch the hubs and replace them with switches. This would at least get your 100Mbps clients using their full speed when talking with other 100Mbps clients.

If you are thinking of upgrading eventually to 1000Mbps, then be sure to get 1000Mbps capable switches.

The cable would seem to be the least of your issues at the moment.
November 13, 2006 7:10:38 PM