network: internet, laptop, printer and TIVO

lld7a4

Distinguished
Nov 15, 2006
I have the following:
-Cable internet through Time Warner (modem provided, high-speed with Earthlink)
-Laptop (Wireless ready)
-Printer (Epson R260)
-Router (Linksys 802.11g Wireless Router)
-TIVO (Series 2 box)

FIRST-I want to connect all of these together on a home network and I have no experience with this. The laptop will be wireless for sure. To connect my TIVO to the router I am using a wired Network Adapter. I am not sure if I want my printer to be wired or wireless. But I know that the printer will be sitting on the opposite wall as the modem/router/TIVO, so I would have to purchase a long cable if I choose wired.

SECOND-I want to secure my network from outsiders. But I want to know how to add an additional computer to the network later if I get one.

I want to do this with using money as a constraint. I live in a studio apartment with a loft bed, aka all products are in the same room.

I need detailed instructions on what my buying options are and what my setup options are. Please help.

You need cat 5e ethernet cable for your wired network.
You don't say if you have a gigabit router or a 10/100, as well as the other computers.
A wireless card for your laptop, unless it already has one built in.
You can connect the printer to your computer, either USB or parallel and share it off of your computer. Or else you can buy a print server and connect it via ethernet or wireless.
You connect the modem to the WAN port of your router. You connect the computer and TIVO to the LAN ports.
The router probably has a built in firewall, but don't rely on just that. You should have a firewall on each of your computers also. There are some free ones you can download from the internet.
After all this you should be left with 2 free LAN ports on the router in case you want to add more computers, etc.

lld7a4

Distinguished
Nov 15, 2006