Sign in with
Your question

Is the PSU to weak?

Tags:
  • Power Supplies
  • Components
Last response: in Components
February 27, 2007 3:46:12 AM

Well this is my first time building a comp and I hooked everything up but when i press the power button nothing really happens except it looks like it trys too turn on then powers down very fast.

E6700 Processor
P5n-E Sli Mobo
2G ram
8800GTS
1 LG Optical drive
1 400gb Harddrive
and the case is a Raidmax x-1

well....I replaced the PSU with a 700w OCZ GameXstream
and It did the same thing once I put the video card in. You think the vid card is bad or the PSU is just too weak because i think I burned out the PSU.

Can u guys post a PSU u guys would recommend with enough amps and watts

More about : psu weak

February 28, 2007 4:03:57 AM

The 700w Gamexstream says its 36amps i think
February 28, 2007 4:32:13 AM

so you think my video card might be burning the psu's out??
Related resources
February 28, 2007 1:07:38 PM

the extreme calculator(not sure if I did it right) says 750 watts tho
February 28, 2007 1:50:20 PM

Its not about watts its about amps so forget that calculator.
February 28, 2007 2:49:27 PM

well 750w is a bit excessive for that kinda system. im running mine on a 500w PSU and it has no problems running my setup. Just make sure the +12v lines has enough amps to supply your gfx. GTS shouldnt be as powerhungry as the GTX so i would say you are fine with 500w
February 28, 2007 7:19:22 PM

I have a 550 Watt PSU and I am running

MachSpeed Motherboard
AMD X2 4400 processor
Nvidia GTS 8800 Video Card 640MB (just 1)
2 GB RAM
120 MM Fan
1 160GB Sata Drive
2 IDE drives (1 30GB and other is 160GB)
1 CD Burner and 1 DVD Burner.

I have had very little problems with mine, it shot off on me a couple of times but I having a feeling that it was not becuase of my PSU.

I will let you know more when I find out.
February 28, 2007 7:23:36 PM

habber you rock! n u r right
February 28, 2007 9:35:11 PM