Sign in with
Your question

Athlon 2100xp shows up as 1900

Last response: in CPUs
February 27, 2007 11:56:07 PM

Hey all,

I'm not sure when this happened, but I noticed recently that my AMD Athlon XP 2100+ that I've been running for over three years is now registering during bootup and in Windows as a 1900+???

How could this have happened without altering BIOS? Maybe I did and don't remember?

Anyhow, I'm running on a Asus A7N8X Deluxe mobo. I did just recently flash the BIOS, but I think this 1900 problem was going on before that...

So, I know currently the CPU frequency in BIOS is set at 133, which is what I thought it should be anyhow? When I try to bump it up to 166, the chip will register at 2500+, but it will crash during bootup...

I know the 2100+ is great for overclocking, but I've never attempted it. So, if you've got advice on how to return my chip to it's normal speed, if you also have insight on how to use this navigate this mobo to get the chip to operate stable at 166, that would be awesome (because, then my 3200 ram could go at full speed, right?).

Windows XP Pro, SP2, all current updates
AMD Athlon XP 2100+
1GB (2x512) Corsair XMS 3200
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Hey all,

I'm not sure when this happened, but I noticed recently that my AMD Athlon XP 2100+ that I've been running for over three years is now registering during bootup and in Windows as a 1900+???

How could this have happened without altering BIOS? Maybe I did and don't remember?

Anyhow, I'm running on a Asus A7N8X Deluxe mobo. I did just recently flash the BIOS, but I think this 1900 problem was going on before that...

So, I know currently the CPU frequency in BIOS is set at 133, which is what I thought it should be anyhow? When I try to bump it up to 166, the chip will register at 2500+, but it will crash during bootup...