nightscope

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2007
I have been studying about computers and how they work for the past 2-3 months from online posts/sites. And I still do not get the whole picture of everything. For example, overclocking a cpu is done by either raising the multiplier or the FSB of the processor, correct? So how do you know when to increase the voltage? How does the processor work? How does it work with the motherboard? How do you know how much the motherboard can handle overclocking? How do you which ram, for example, goes with which motherboard/cpu best? Which is the best ram? I heard that AMD favored low latency, but, is that true? Does intel also favor that?

I know some of these questions should be on the cpu overclocking messageboard, but it'd be much easier if I can get all the information I need on one thread.

What new AMD processors are coming out? What about Intel? Which is the best time to upgrade? How do you know which motherboard is the best? I would love to have all these questions answered in this thread. It's amazing how much you all know about this stuff, so please share with me :)

Thank you!

Sirfiroth

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2006
Well, the subject title suggested a major question but your actual post is pretty broad..... you will get better response if you narrow it down a bit :) ...

The system clock, voltage regulators (CPU, memory, northbridge) voltages and such are set during the boot up of the system.

When you turn on your computer or your press the reset button, a boot strap loader initiates the boot sequence. The first thing that happens is the voltages to the CPU, mem, and such are set to default ('safe') values, and initialization code is executed --- this is the BIOS. The code is actually executed by the processor, it first initializes the processor then IO periphrials and such.