Sign in with
Your question

Case for new HTPC.

Last response: in Components
February 28, 2007 4:09:24 PM

Hello all,
Recently I've been asked to build an HTPC for a friend. I've never done one before, so I need a little help. Following is the current parts list:
Gigabyte 965p-ds3
ATI x1300PRO
C2D e6400
2X512 CAS4 DDR2667 Patriot Memory
Samsung HD501LJ 500GB HDD
X-fi XtremeGamer
Logisys PS575XBK power supply (575 watts with good reviews on newegg)
Generic DVD R/W

This PC will be used primarily for DVD playback (disc- and image-based) and MP3 playback. Please comment on the efficacy of the XP MCE remote, and if you don't recommend, please recommend a case that has one. I would like to find one in the sub-150 range. Thanks for your help!

More about : case htpc

February 28, 2007 4:53:22 PM

Is this case going to be sitting in the living room where people will be looking at it? Tower or Desktop? This is a reasonably good case for the price range you're looking at:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1681...

Beware there can be clearance problems between the GPU and drive bays in this case.

I would consider getting a small drive from which to run the OS, and use the 500g for storage, or another 500gb, esp. if your client is going to be ripping DVD's to it, or doing PVR.

Don't see a TV tuner on the list.

The power supply seems like a bit of overkill for the components you list. If it's going to be in the living room, sound level would be a consideration.
This PSU has plenty of power for your app, and is very quiet and efficient:

February 28, 2007 5:52:07 PM

I built an HTPC for my Pa for Chirstmas and it turned out great. I used a Lian-Li case and the Microsoft keyboard remote.