Sign in with
Your question

Will this RAM 'bottleneck' my system?

Last response: in Systems
March 1, 2007 11:56:45 AM

What I'm buying:

CPU - E6600
MB - Gigabyte 965P-DS3 (or possibly ASUS 650i)
VC - 8800 GTS

A buddy was telling me that I should buy a better quality RAM than 2 gigs of Mushkin PC2 6400..... ? :? (~$230)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E1682...

We're both building PC's & he's getting mostly the same components except he's spending around $350 on some crazy corsair Dominator RAM. I think it's overkill for our systems... so I'm here again.... Does he not know what the fuggggg he's talking about?

I'm still learning much about the PC world, but I thought the RAM I picked was good enough...

Any tips on this? Thanks!

More about : ram bottleneck system

March 1, 2007 12:26:18 PM

This is better than the Mushkin. Buy it and laugh at his waste of money..... :D  You really won't need any better memory with an E6600. You could buy fancier stuff and OC it, but the performance difference would be negligable compared to the money you'd have to spend. And I think this GSkill OCs nicely anyway.
March 1, 2007 12:28:22 PM

Thanks! :D  Was there supposed to be a link or model name/# in your post?
Related resources
March 1, 2007 12:30:52 PM

I've just built a very similar PC for a friend, I bought generic samsung DDR-800 and I have his machine running an E6300 @ 3.2ghz with the memory set at 5-5-5-15

once the AS5 has been through it's burn in period I'll be hitting it with 500mhzFSB / 3.5ghz proc speed (I did this briefly when I had it with me still and it ran up windows fine, I just declocked in the meantime to make sure it's completely stable at 3.2 before sticking it back up to 3.5)
March 1, 2007 12:36:03 PM

lol... morning here... thanks!
March 1, 2007 2:26:09 PM