Sign in with
Your question

Finally building first PC

Last response: in Systems
March 1, 2007 10:37:20 PM

Hi. After months of reading, researching and working overtime, I’m finally going to build my first PC! However, though I have gained a basic knowledge, I’m still far from an expert, so I’ll definitely need some help in the process. I think what I’ve picked out so far is good, but some double checking first of all might be good.

So here goes.

ASUS Quietdrive DVD-E616A Black 16X DVD-ROM CD-ROM 48X Retail Box W/SOFTWARE

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB SATA2 3GB/S 7200RPM 16MB Cache Ncq Hard Drive

Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition OEM

Pioneer DVR-111D Black DVD-RW 16X6X16 DVD+RW 16X8X16 DL 8X IDE OEM DVD Burner

EVGA E-GEFORCE 8800 GTS 500MHZ 640MB 1.6GHZ GDDR3 Dual DVI-I HDTV Out HDCP DIRECTX10 Video Card

Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400 2GB 2X1GB PC6400 DDR2-800 CL 5-5-5-12 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory

Antec P180 Black ATX Mid Tower Aluminum Case 4X5.25 1X3.5 6X3.5INT No PS W/ USB & Audio Ports

Ocz Gamexstream 700W ATX12V 24PIN Sli Ready Active Pfc Atx Power Supply 120MM Fan Black

Asus P5N-E Sli Nforce 650I Sli LGA775 Conroe Atx 2PCI-E16 1PCI-E1 2PCI SATA2 Sound Gblan Motherboard

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 2.13GHZ 1066FSB 2MB Retail

and an Xfi Xtremegamer from a different place.

Total: ~$2050 Canadian. No monitor, keyboard or mouse.

I also have some questions. These are just pre-build; I’ll probably order the parts next week, and make another post at the time needing help with every little thing >.<.

1. First, does everything seem good?

2. The DVD writer and DVD drive that I have chosen…Do they burn/read CD’s aswell by default, or do you need a combo drive to burn/read DVD/CD’s in the same drive? (Or would it be best go get 1 DVD writer and 1 CD writer.)

3. If you could slash 100/200 dollars, where would you choose?

4. Where does one obtain computer building supplies, including:
Isopropyl Alcohol
Arctic Silver 5