Ivy Bridge vs Sandy bridge. Wait or not

Status
Not open for further replies.

kemperkipie

Distinguished
Nov 24, 2011
Hello,
I'm not really good at finding information about the new Ivy-bridge.. What I would like to know is:
Should I wait for Ivy bridge and buy an I7-3770K? Or just pick 2600K now?

Will IvyBridge be much better than SandyBridge, and will it be worth the money?

I'm not sure what the prices will be. But if I have €500 for: Motherboard, Proccessor and liquid Cooling (Liquid cooling probably some Intel liquid cooling thermal solution about €80) what should i do?

And what IvyBridge will compare, or be much of an increasement for the i7 2600K, and in what pricerange?

When will they come out? April, May, June??

Afterall.. what will be the Socket.. i have seen some have 1155 and some with 2011.. Don't know wich one is right now.. :p

Solution
You should wait for Ivy-bridge.Ivy bridge is better than Sandy bridge in every aspect.
1. More efficient
2. Create less heat.
3. PCI express 3.0 support
4. 20% more performance.
5. Same price.
6. greater overclockability.
from what we are hearing exactly the same price, so maybe +/- 10% when drops in SB are taken into account.

Can you wait?, that's up to you.

One thing is that its hotter than SB, low powered but a smaller surface area to get rid of the heat, so its runs a little hotter.

kemperkipie

Distinguished
Nov 24, 2011
I'm getting liquid cooled so I should be able to keep the temp low enough.
But i'm most likely just going to wait, since i'm already planning on buying GTX680 SLI with it. I think i'm going to wait for GTX680 Classified Ultra as well, to put them in SLI.

Last question:
What socket do I need for 3770K? And what chipset should I get? I'm was thinking of buying: http://www.alternate.nl/html/product/Moederborden_Socket_1155/ASUS/MAXIMUS_IV_EXTREME_-=Rev.3.0=-/526166/?tn=HARDWARE&l1=Moederborden&l2=Intel&l3=Socket+1155
but I guess there will appear some new nice Mobo's when IvyBridge releases?