Need help on newly finished build.

VinceAK04

Distinguished
Feb 13, 2007
This is my first build. I am having problems with installing software I guess. Here are the specs:

ASUS P5N32-E SLI PLUS MOBO

E6300 CPU

ASUS DVD-R

500W PSU

NVIDIA 7900GS

WD 160GB HD

When I turned on the computer everything seemed to start up fine. It gave me the option to go to setup or display bios. I tried to put in my OS but it didn't do anything, I'm not sure what to do. I can go in the setup and go through everything but I dont' know how to boot my cd. Please help, and thanks in advance.

Vince

kshipper

Distinguished
Aug 27, 2004
Yeah. Ya' need to get intot he BIOS setup (usually Delete key or F2 Key at startup). Once in there, poke around and look for a spot called Boot order. Set your CD/DVD first. Make sure you save on exit and reboot with the Windows CD in the drive. Watch the screen and press a key on your keyboard to tell it to Boot from the CD. If you don't do that at the right time then your computer will just try to boot from the hard drive and it will complain that it can't find a bootable drive. It all seems pretty confusing at first, but after you build a few systems you will get used to the procedure.

VinceAK04

Distinguished
Feb 13, 2007
Okay, I changed the boot order and it started the windows setup. It finished a portion and wanted to restart, but after restarting a message came up and said "disk read error". I tried to reboot and the same message popped up. After that I decided to go to repair instead of setup and did a chkdsk. It ended up saying " there are one or more unrecoverable problems on your hard disk". Any suggestions?

Mondoman

Splendid
How are your drives connected? I believe this MB only has a single IDE/PATA header (like most newer MBs), and you don't want to mix optical and hard drives on the same IDE/PATA cable, so at most one of your optical and hard drives should be IDE/PATA, with the rest all SATA.

VinceAK04

Distinguished
Feb 13, 2007