Sign in with
Your question

K8N Neo2 MS-7025+Vid Card Woes

Tags:
  • MSI-Microstar
  • Motherboards
Last response: in Motherboards
March 4, 2007 1:21:05 AM

First of all I apologize if this is not in the right spot, but here's my system specs:

Motherboard: MSI K8N Neo2 Model MS-7025
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 4000+
RAM: 2x512MB PC3200 Kingston ValumeRAM, 2x512MB PC3200 Kingston HyperX
Video Card: BFG 7600GS 512MB AGP
PSU: Antec TruePower 550W

Yes, I know some/most of this is ancient, no need to rag on me, I'm a poor college student.

Anyways, I recent bought the BFG 7600GS 512MB and have been having some problems with it. First of all, when I first got the card, I uninstalled my old drivers, used Driver Cleaner, took out my old card (GeForce FX5900 Ultra) and put in the 7600GS. I first tried using brand new drivers from nVidia's website. I started up WoW and after 3-5 minutes of game play my screen froze. I was unable to move my mouse for about 10 seconds... then my mouse could move for about 5 seconds then it would refreeze. It would go through that cycle 2-3 times and then my system would restart and I wouldn't get any error messages upon the bootup. I tried Vanguard and got the same thing.

I started tinkering with the card, disabled fast-write in BIOS, changed the agerapture(sp?) size, tried pulling my CPU down from it's overclocked state to stock, checked the heat on everything, it was all fine. It wasn't overheating, and was perfectly cool. I then uninstalled the video card and tried the drivers that came with the CD and those did the same thing. I decided I would just RMA the product and get a new one.

I got the new product yesterday and it started doing the same thing so I figured it may be my system. I reformatted my computer, got everything reinstalled, Windows XP up, video card and sound drivers and all that jazz goin'. Viola, it ran my games fine! I got good frame rates, it wasn't overheating, so needless to say I was happy.