Noobz: Case and Airflow.

LkcJai

Distinguished
Mar 4, 2007
Ayo guys,

I'll be straight, I'm a Noob. No-one likes that term/rank but HEY! Gotta start somewhere...

I've built only 5 computers in my life and find it quite weird at why it always crashes and stuffs up pre-maturely. All parts run on stock-clock settings. Only recently did I speak to my Notorious-Comp-manic-work-mate did I find out the importance of a decent Case and Airflow.

All of my comps that I've given birth to had AUD$20-$25 cases (lol). And all with one fan inside, when my mate found out about this he wouldnt talk to me again...

I'm looking at getting a new system now:

Intel E6400 Conroe
ASUS P5B-E 1394
ASUS 256MB 7900GS
2g Kingston 667
Antec NeoHe 430 Watts
Seagate SATA 400g
Creative X-FI Xtreme Music
Creative Inspire 5200 5.1
Creative Headset and Mic Combo
Samsung DVDrom
Samsung DVD/RW
Samsung 24" LCD 16:10 (wide)
Microsoft Wireless Desktop

[Yes... I'm a hardcore WoW'er. That 24" is great with agro.]

I have a budget of AUD$350 for the case and cooling hardwares. I'm looking at the CoolerMaster RC632 (AUD$150) but I dunno if its a good product. I have absolutely no idea about the these cooling system so if there is anyone who would be ever so kind to lend me a l33t hand PLEASE PLEASE and PLEASE I'm begging you help me out so my friend will talk to me again! [And save my computer from pre-maturing again!]

brett_monkey

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2007
Greetings, Well first off I would not spend that kind of cash on a case unless you are doing some xtreme overclocking. I would buy a great alumunim case by Thermaltake (I have one) or some other top tier case brand with at least two case fans. One 120mm fan in the front of the case for the intake and one 120mm fan in the back to pull the air through and out. I would suggest 120mm because they are not as loud at the 80mm fans in most cases. You can find a great case from around 50 to 100 (128 aud) dollars.