New builders confusion

Starglider

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2007
Hello mighty gurus!

Situation:

I am first time builder, and putting together a new rig this week. While I have upgraded PCs before, added graphics cards, extra HDs, memory, etc, I have never built a system from scratch before. Use of the rig is gaming and image editing mostly. Reading this board gave me lots of ideas / suggestions on components already.

First, list of parts:

Intel E6600 C2D
WD Raptor X 10000rpm 150GB
Larger SATA2 HD for storage. Brand/model to be determined.
EVGA Geforce 8800 GTX ACS3
Silverstone Olympia 1000 W PSU
2GB GSkill DDR2 800mhz 4-4-4-12
Coolermaster Stacker 830 case (or maybe TT Tai Chi or Kandalf)
Vista Ultimate OEM

Motherboard is yet to be determined. I am torn between 680i SLI boards, mostly IN9 32X-MAX or Gigabyte GA-N680SLI-DQ6 or if I should just go with regular Asus P5W. I have read chilling horror stories about 680i chipset and while the SLI intrigues me, not sure if its worth the hassle. What is your input on this ?

Actual questions are about the building itself.

Is RAID worth it? I am thinking between 2x Raptor in RAID 0 for games, OS, and big disk for a data storage, or just putting single Raptor for OS.

First boot up. Do I need to manually enter all the memory latencies, cpu settings into bios, or is it detected automatically? (I plan to OC later on, I mean just regular stock speed in this context)

Do I still need to have 3rd party SATA/ RAID drivers in floppy when installing Windows Vista Ultimate?

How do I exactly set the RAID in BIOS /OS if I choose to go for it?

Is paying extra 100 EUR on a factory overclocked EVGA 8800 GTX KO AC3 worth it?

Megaton of thanks advance!

Starglider

jeff_2087

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2007
Good choice on the CPU.