Bus speed question... or is it?

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Celeron
  • Bus Speed
  • Components
Last response: in CPUs
March 6, 2007 2:47:59 AM

Bare with me here folks…. I have a question about system bus speed and now different components contribute to the overall ‘speed’ of a system. I’m a novice so any advice/explanations received would be much appreciated. I have a system with a Celeron D 346 that has a FSB of 533 Mhz and DDR2 RAM also running at 533Mhz. The board bus speed is advertised in the manual as 800 Mhz but the system reports running at 533Mhz. I take it this is because the ‘overall’ bus speed is determined by all components throttling back to the lowest speed? Right/wrong? I’m toying with the idea of replacing the Celeron with an 800 Mhz Pentium 4 631 with FSB of 800 Mhz. I take it that the Pentium would also throttle back and run at 533 Mhz because, according to the board manual it can only accept 400 or 533 Mhz DDR2 SDRAM? Yes/no? If so would I notice much of a difference with the Pentium (with Hyper-Threading and 2MB of L2 cache) over the Celeron (only 256KB L2 cache). As you can see this query is from a novice so any pearls of wisdom you would like to share with me would be much appreciated. Thanks.

More about : bus speed question

March 6, 2007 3:27:48 AM

The CPU is a 533. So you are limited by that, even though the MB will support DDR2 800 memory. Even if you use DDR2 800 memory with the celeron, it will down clock it to 533.

Quote:
Model
Brand Intel
Processors Type Desktop
Series Celeron D
Model BX80547RE3066CN
CPU Socket Type
CPU Socket Type LGA 775
Tech Spec
Core Prescott
Multi-Core Single-Core
Name Celeron D 346
Operating Frequency 3.06GHz
FSB 533MHz
L1 Cache 12KB+16KB
L2 Cache 256KB
Manufacturing Tech 90 nm
Vista Ready Yes
64 bit Support Yes
Hyper-Threading Support No
Virtualization Technology Support No
Multimedia Instruction MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3
Voltage 1.25-1.4V
March 6, 2007 10:01:11 AM