Quadcore vs Single core on compiling software faster

badger101101

Distinguished
Nov 28, 2006
I am a software engineer, and I hate waiting for my builds to compile. I will soon be working on a C++ project that is over 1 million lines of code and was wondering if anyone here has any data showing how much faster a quadcore such as the QX6700 compiles over a single core such as my Athlon 64 3400+ (Newcastle). Generally 2 threads are utilized per core when compiling, so I am thinking that utilizing 8 threads over 4 cores should theoretically improve compiling times significantly. Any thoughts or personal experiences?

I think it would be a great addition to the THG CPU charts.

Dr_asik

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2006
Regardless of multi-threading, the sheer speed of the faster Core 2 Duos can certainly make a remarquable difference over your Athlon 64+. As all C2Ds are already dual-core processors, I don't think you'd see a big difference from going to quad-core, except a larger hole in your wallet.

mr_fnord

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2005
Are you using a multithreaded compiler? How are your library dependencies structured? If you happen to have a multithreaded compiler, and you have a widely branched dependency tree, you could well see some significant performance gains with a 4 core processor. Like everyone is saying, you should also see a pretty significant performance improvements moving to a C2D even in single threaded apps.

Why are you recompiling the entire application? I sincerely hope that your million line project is logically divided into libraries and effectively segmented, otherwise you'll have worse problems than waiting a couple of minutes for a build. Also, you should be able to selectively build, or do a rebuild, or any other of a number of options depending on your compiler in order to speed up build times.

badger101101

Distinguished
Nov 28, 2006