Need Help overclocking e4300 with a gigabyte 965p-ds3 board

Hey guys, heres is my set up:
965p-ds3 mobo
e4300 cpu
1gb ocz 800mhz ram
xfx 8800 GPU

Heres my problem, I hear people overclocking this chip to 3.3(or at least above 3.0) pretty easily. I am an overclocking noob and i tried for hours and hours and i could not get mine to pass 2.0. Once i increase my fbs to 240, the system would not boot up (then i have to clear the cmos and do all that annoying stuff). I am pretty sure it isnt the hardware problem and there is something really simple that i simply don't know how to do. i was able to overclocking it to 2.6 once and then i tried to go higher than that and the system would not boot back up, ever since that, i can not get it to pass 220 fsb. I am kinda frustrated here.... Does anyone know what i am doing wrong? Any input is appreciated, thanks!!!
6 answers Last reply
More about need overclocking e4300 gigabyte 965p board
  1. Did you increase vcore? If not, you should read an overclocking guide. There are several on this forum. I think there's another thread just below this one by another guy with a 4300 that has a link to one, in fact.
  2. Quote:
    Hey guys, heres is my set up:
    965p-ds3 mobo
    e4300 cpu
    1gb ocz 800mhz ram
    xfx 8800 GPU

Heres my problem, I hear people overclocking this chip to 3.3(or at least above 3.0) pretty easily. I am an overclocking noob and i tried for hours and hours and i could not get mine to pass 2.0. Once i increase my fbs to 240, the system would not boot up (then i have to clear the cmos and do all that annoying stuff). I am pretty sure it isnt the hardware problem and there is something really simple that i simply don't know how to do. i was able to overclocking it to 2.6 once and then i tried to go higher than that and the system would not boot back up, ever since that, i can not get it to pass 220 fsb. I am kinda frustrated here.... Does anyone know what i am doing wrong? Any input is appreciated, thanks!!!