Help in deciding when to buy a graphics card and what to buy

mogchr

Distinguished
Mar 7, 2007
I am building my own computer, nForce 650 motherboard, E6600 (when the price cuts come), 650W psu, Mid to Full Tower case, 2gb (1gbx2) ddr 2 800 (not sure what brand yet), and 2 320gb perpendicular recording hdds, but I am not sure of what motherboard to choose for the computer. I am thinking of doing some overclocking to the memory and cpu, maybe to the graphics card if possible, and I would like to have a graphics card(s) that will last me for a while, about a year at least. I am not in a rush to purchase WinVista, and I will be using XP Home, Linux 2.6.x, and FreeBSD 6/7 for operating systems. I was thinking about buying two graphics cards and using them for better performance, but I am really not an expert in this area. I did not know if the R600's will be worth it at all, projected to come out in may, but I think that the G80's are a waste of money and power. How long will dx 9 be in style, since I would like to stick to XP gaming until it comes time to dump it. However, at this moment I will not be needing dx10, yet, so, what card(s) would best suit me. My budget is less than 300, maybe closer to mid 200's for the card(s), making that either one high end card or two midrange cards. Also, I am looking for graphics compatibility with Linux at least, and, if possible, FBSD.

kchimko

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2006
Give it till then end of april at least. amd/ati next gen graphics cards will be out then. This should force NVIDIA to offer competative pricing options for the 8800. or if you prefer amd/ati the x2800. aswell by this time i am sure tomshardware will have some solid numbers on the performance of both cards so you will be able to determine which is the best bang for the buck.

Honestly speaking from somebody that purchased an SLI board and never used it :)