Please help! PC freezing for no apparant reason...

PiENkiE

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2007
When I play games (even games like Warcraft 3 which my system should handle with ease), I think :D ) my PC would just freeze for 10-15 sec or so, and then be fine for a while and then do this again. It's seriously frustrating, since I have no idea what the cause might be.

My specs:

AMD Athlon 64 3700+
Jetway GeForce 7600GT
1 gig cheap memory
500w PSU

BTW I thought my gfx card might be overheating or something, so I bought a Zalman VF900-cu gpu cooler as well as a Vantec VCool, and my gpu temperature idles at 37 degrees, so I'm running out of ideas...

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

PiENkiE

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2007
Yip, my drivers are fine, Aopen PSU, so not best of brands. I was a bit of a noob when I built this pc, thought brands didn't matter. Idiot. *swears at himself*

PiENkiE

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2007
I'm pretty sure it's been like this from the beginning. I'm also convinced it's heat related, because I live in South Africa, and it's seriously hot during the day at the moment, and the problem tends to lessen at night when it's cooler.

Nossy

Distinguished
Apr 5, 2005
You'll need watercooling! Anyway don't you guys have AC down in SA? Usually if it overheats it'll freeze and won't come back. If your graphics card overheat, you'll start seeing artifacts and glitches before it freezes out. Maybe you didn't apply enough thermal paste/grease to your HSF, if even? You might need to lap it.

Fedor

Distinguished
Feb 11, 2007
YOU NEED TO CHANGE FROM DSL TO CABLE!!!

how many times i gotta tell ya bro?

DSL is intermittent!! and limited to 1/10 the spead of CABLE!

I can't believe this guy hasn't been banned yet.

PC_Side_Line

Distinguished
Feb 7, 2007
Fedor, help the guy out with ideas!

Tell the author that he needs to shutdown all his background programs plus firewalls if any to maximize his online bandwidth.