for the newb,s kinda?

madmurph

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2006
Yeah, I saw that, too, and thought it was a good piece of advice. Not just the nOObs; it is spring (-cleaning) after all.

Under the theme "the cobbler's kids are all bare-footed," I always clean out everyone else's computers when they bring them to me for fixing, but never pay much attention to mine.

Last week, I had a server go down because the cpu fan was so clogged with dust, the fan stopped spinning and the thing went hyper-thermic within moments. It had that same smell as when you turn on the furnace at the beginning of winter -- you know, burning dust! :oops: Saved the server, but the cpu was a meltdown. (No, there was no thermal protection in the bios -- older server board. Duh.) With all the hairballs and dust, you'd thought some animal was living in there.

Thanks for having the awareness to share. MM

madmurph

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2006
especially when it comes to my automobile.

i work on cars for a living which = i hate working on cars :p
LOL, that comes under the theme: "never make your avocation your vocation." Advice I've also ignored.

scorch

Distinguished
Jun 2, 2004
Definately good advice. I do it once in the spring and once in the fall. Except I pull the cover off the power supply and spray the dust out, pull the fans out and clean the blades off. Espically on the processor, a lot of dust gets betweent he heatsink and the processor. The funny thing is that my computer is on my desk in a house with no carpet. Dust gets ya no matter what.

sirheck

Splendid
Feb 24, 2006
Definately good advice. I do it once in the spring and once in the fall. Except I pull the cover off the power supply and spray the dust out, pull the fans out and clean the blades off. Espically on the processor, a lot of dust gets betweent he heatsink and the processor. The funny thing is that my computer is on my desk in a house with no carpet. Dust gets ya no matter what.

yeah! you cant get away from it. :lol: