Network novice could use some help

phisig32

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2006
First, thank you for taking the time to read this, I will be brief.

Short story, I work in a school with old computers, so I brought a rebuilt one in from home. The two tech people that work in the whole district have not returned a phone call in two weeks so I decided to try and get connected to the network and servers myself.

After a couple of hours I can now log on and connect to the server through my cpu and login name. I was able to find my printer and set that up as well. Two small problems are left.

Windows XP Pro Sp2

1. IE6 works and I can acess any website. FF2 can acess a few specific websites related to the school and nothing else. I get an error message that says the site is taking too long to respond, check to see if you are behind a firewall or if you typed the name correctly. Under my normal log in name (not connected to the server) I added firefox to the firewall acepted programs, but that did not fix anything. Under FF2 I was using auto detect connection settings and the switched it with the proxy address and same port listed with IE6 but that didn't help either. I can not turn the firewall off when connected to the network/server. If I just log onto the cpu and not the network I can not access the internet.

2. AVG 7.5 can not update, I did not really try and fix this one yet. I added some avg services to the allowable list but may have missed the right one.

Thanks for any help you can give

blue68f100

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2005
Sounds like FF is going through a proxy server. Select direct connect to internet.

Your school can also block other browsers if they desire. But this is rare.

AVG can not update tells me you may be missing DNS or gateway info.

Run ipconfig /all from a dos cmd window.

phisig32

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2006
Switched FF to direct connect, didn't help.