Sign in with
Your question

The Server Primer, Part 1

Last response: in Systems
March 13, 2007 10:31:56 AM

Where are the differences between consumer hardware and professional server products? Tom's Hardware evaluates professional components and their characteristics.

More about : server primer part

March 13, 2007 3:17:15 PM

Not that I'm an expert, but like the article states, server hardware is chosen based on it's stability. Server admins are usually willing to sacrifice speed for uptime. A high end desktop will have more raw performance than a single server blade.

And, servers are a lot more proprietary than desktops. Building a server is a more rigorous exercise than a desktop because most computer parts are compatible in a desktop while the opposite is true for a server.

Another note of interest, in a lot of servers (especially HP) the BIOS is not stored on a mobo chip. Its stored in a small hard drive partition. And often a server must be 'primed' through the BIOS to run a particular OS, which makes switching OS's take more steps.
March 13, 2007 5:21:48 PM

I really appreciated this article and I look forward to it's successors. As a PC enthusiast who has recently "made the plunge" into network support as a career, I am in need of articles like this that help me to expand my knowledge base. Keep these articles coming!
Related resources
March 13, 2007 5:33:00 PM

I currently work for IBM as a System X/Blade Server Engineer. You left out the Tulsa Processors, the 71xx Line of processors. These are so great with 16MBL3 and 2x1MB L2. Either way good article.

Maybe next time you should talk about some Blades, and how they can save lots of space for less than that of several 2U or 3U rack mounts.
March 13, 2007 8:41:02 PM

The difference? Server/enterprise markets need longer lifetimes for their hardware as it's quiet expensive to have to replace what can sometimes amount to hundreds of computers. RELIABILITY! They're designed for reliability and SPEED!