Help! 7 month old Core 2 build, won't post!

psteele

Distinguished
Jul 28, 2006
Bad Axe Rev. 304
Core 2 E6600 @ 3GHZ (all voltages default, set fsb strap to 1333)
2 74GB Raptor's
2 320GB Seagate 7200.10's
2x 1GB Patriot Extreme DDR2 800 4-4-4-12 2.2v (@ 667 4-4-4-12 1.8v)
2 DVD-RW's
Zalman 9500 w/ AS5
EVGA 7600GT KO
floppy drive
Thermaltake TWV 500W PSU (W0057RU-01) <revised edition
3 12v rails (12a, 20a, & 14a)-total of 380w or 32 amps on combined 12v rails

OK, here's the deal. This is my first build and its been working flawlessly running XP Pro (x86) & Vista Ultimate (x64) until now. I usually leave my system running 24/7 and one morning i came to find the system turned off. Thought it was odd, and upon turning it back on the system will not post (no beep codes either) and it seems as if it goes through a constant reboot cycle (the optical drives check for discs about every 5 secs). Otherwise everything powers up as normal...HDD's fans, floppy, etc.

I then proceeded to troubleshoot the problem. First I checked each ram stick seperately. Nothing. Then, I took both sticks out, and I got a 'no memory beep code', (which hopefully means the CPU is still working).

Also, the system is running through a Tripp-Lite line-interactive 1000VA UPS. Tested the memory using the latest memtest 86+ 1.7 (or 1.65, don't remember) and it through errors on a couple tests (regardless of voltage or timings even as rated) but I ignored them because the system ran perfectly.

However, now I'm stumped as for what to try/replace first. I was thinking about buying a cheap ram stick to see if its a ram problem, but just in case it is not, what should I do/troubleshoot afterwards?

Thanks in advance for any advice :oops:

EDIT: already tried clearing the CMOS jumper/removing the battery/etc

Ninjatsu

Distinguished
Nov 8, 2006
Unplug everything.