Old HP Computer - Fan Failure

G

Hello,

I have no experience in PC building/maintenence/modification, although I have wanted to build my own PC for a long while. I am currently trying to fix someone else's old PC...a HP Pavilion 8760C. The hard drive has been completely corrupted and needs to be reformatted. However at the same time, the CPU fan seems to be failing. When I first power it up, it says something along the line of:
"Ventilation Fan Failure" "Shutdown system" "System may overheat"

I believe it is correct in detecting it as failing, as the fan noise gradually increases more and more regardless of what the PC is doing, eventually it starts going way up and way down and begins making a few thumping noises. The "Ventilation Fan" is both the CPU fan that cools the heatsink, as well as the sole case fan (with the exception of the PSU fan). The fan is inside an air-duct that hovers over the CPU heatsink. There seems to be no way to just attach a fan on top of the heatsink, so I seem to have to use an air duck. The fan is a Delta 80x80x25mm ASB0812HH. I have taken pictures, but those are delayed as I am having some problems uploading them to my PC.

Anyway, I am going to replace the fan and I have a few questions:

1. What 80mm fan would you recommend as a replacement? This computer is of course not overclocked in any way. Stability of the CPU is of course the #1 priority...#2 would be silence. I am kind of concerned about getting a fan with too low airflow (in favor of silence), due to the fan hovering a little above the heatsink instead of being directly attached to it. Should I be concerned about that?

2. Are these generic air ducts that come in manufactured PCs normally designed so that you can replace the fan in them? Or once the fan fails, your supposed to get rid of the air duct too? Having a tough time figuring out how, if any way, to get the fan out of the airduct.