Building a gaming Pc In 2007 some preliminary specs.....

spoleto

Distinguished
Nov 14, 2006
Hey people, let me first say that I am a complete newbie when it comes to fiddling around with the innards of computers, I like to think I know quite a bit about the different parts but when it comes to handling them and installing them I just fail. :oops:

Im sick of paying extravagant prices for custom built computers and Im looking to put together a gaming rig sometime in mid - late 2007.

I want to future proof this rig as much as possible, and the level of games im looking to play are the DX10 ones, Crysis, Alan Wake ect.

Im a UK resident so I can't buy from newegg or anywhere like that, so Im pretty much stuck too the retailers I know, SCAN computers (www.scan.co.uk) and ebuyer (www.ebuyer.com).

I have spent 10 mins or so putting together a basic idea of the kind of specs im looking at on ebuyer and it comes to a pretty expensive 718 pounds.

ASUS P5B DLX/WIFI-AP £104.69

Antec Nine Hundred - Gaming Case with 200mm Top Fan - No PSU £58.00

LG GSA-H42NBAL 18x DVD±RW/RAM Black - Bare drive £16.99

WD Raptor WD740DFD 74GB SATA 10KRPM 16MB Cache - OEM £92.42

Coolermaster IGreen 600W PSU - 85% Efficiency 8pin ATX12V v2.2 120mm Fan £53.44

Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 (2.67ghz) Socket 775 Fsb1066 4mb Cache Retail Boxed Processor £286.35

Corsair (TWIN2X2048-6400) XMS2-6400 2048MB 5-5-5-12 2X240 DIMM Black XMS2 Heat Spreader £106.37

All prices are excluding VAT and on ebuyer.

Total price Including VAT = £718.16

Now, the things that I tend to worry about include,

- Will the motherboard fit correctly in the case ( Screws in right place ect.)

- Is the RAM going to be a problem because of the timings ( Not too good on the RAM timings but the more expensive models use lower timings than 5-5-5-12)

- Is Air cooling going to be enough to keep this system cool