Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Cat5E or Cat 6?

Last response: in Networking
December 30, 2006 3:17:32 PM

Hi,

I'm new to networking and want to set up a new home network with my pc and router to ensure a faster transmission for gaming.

Currently my routers on the end of an extension on a not inconsiderable length of normal telephone extension cable. As I've been having some problems (not necessarily cable related) I've decided to move the router to the main phone point in the house, install a network socket by it and then use network cable to run to the pc where I'll install another network socket and connect via a patch cable. I'm thinking thisa should give a much better connection all round.

The problem is I don't know whch standard of cable to use. I currently have 8mb ADSL although the UK is talking of increasing this 20mb in some areas. What cable do I need for maximum throughput from a single pc?

Cat 5E or Cat 6?

thx.

Al.

More about : cat5e cat

December 30, 2006 5:19:11 PM

Cat 5e.
December 31, 2006 8:49:25 PM

cat5e, will do gigabit

cheaper and easier to terminate
Related resources
January 1, 2007 9:33:04 AM

OK thx,

Thats good news as I have stockist who does a Cat5e kit - £26.99 buys:

50m Cat 5E cable UTP twisted pair cable. 4 x RJ45 twin surface mount boxes. 4 x RJ45 Cat 5E patch leads (red, yellow, green, blue). 1 x combined cable jacket stripper and krone tool. 1 x 90 / 180 Keystone jack fixture. 4 x RJ45 Keystone jack Cat 5E.

The boxes aren't the flush type but given the cost, they're easily replaceable.

I reckon thats a pretty good deal. Cheapest I could find Cat6 cable was £36 without any of the extras.

Al.
January 1, 2007 9:31:29 PM