Sign in with
Your question

Moving to SSD from HDD/Windows 7 vs 8

Last response: in Windows 8
December 16, 2012 6:35:26 PM

Hi! I'm not sure what is the correct forum section to post this, so I am sorry if I put this in the wrong one. Now onto my question(s).

I have a HP 17- 3277NR
http://www.amazon.com/HP-Envy-17-3277NR-17-3-Inch-Lapto...

I currently have Windows 7 installed on it. Using a 750gb Hdd.

So my question is I will be getting a 128gb SSD in the near future. My laptop has two slots for hard drives, so I want to use my SSD for windows 7 and important apps/games, then use the HDD for everything else. (storage).

How do I do this? Also I'm thinking about moving to windows 8 when I do this, do you think thats a good idea? I play games like League of Legends and I use applications like skype, chrome, word 2010 (I'm a college student)

Do you think its a good idea upgrading to Windows 8? Whats your thoughts about Windows 8 vs Windows 7?

And I'd like to keep some data from this installation if I could, but I'd also like the clean, smooth feeling from a fresh installed OS if I could.

Any help would be great! Thank you!

More about : moving ssd hdd windows

December 17, 2012 4:49:59 PM

Anybody?
m
l
a b $ Windows 7
a b * Windows 8
December 17, 2012 5:18:03 PM

Stick with W7, use SSD as boot drive and office etc. Stick the swapfile, temp folder etc on the hdd along with all your games, steam etc etc. Turn off hibernation and system restore for SSD.
m
l
Related resources
December 17, 2012 6:59:06 PM

And how do I set up where everything is stored? Sorry I'm new at this. Any instructions/links you can provide will be very helpful. Thank you!
m
l
December 17, 2012 7:20:31 PM

This is what you do.

1. Install the OS on the SSD