Status
Not open for further replies.

Moebius078

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2006
Hi,

i bought an x-fi card several months ago. Apparantly, it features a resolution of 192 kHz. But what exactly does this mean and what is the function of this, other than marketing?
Is it the sampling rate, used to enrich the lower-frequency sound waves with high harmonic waves, or used to multiplex several audio sources on one copper line?

And what is the added-value above 96 kHz? Any noticable differences?

tnx for help, i'm a total newbie on this subject :)

Sagekilla

Distinguished
Sep 11, 2006
Having 192 kHz output is only useful if the source data is at a higher sampling rate then the standard 44.1/48 kHz. Otherwise it's pretty much moot. Your speakers need to be able to handle the extended frequency range as well.. Otherwise it'll be trying to reproduce something that it can't. It is pretty much a marketing term since every CD I know of today has a 44.1 kHz sampling rate, unless you like get a DVD-Audio one which are pretty limited.

That's what I know on the subject.. If anyone knows I'm wrong, feel free to correct me.

Moebius078

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2006
Your speakers need to be able to handle the extended frequency range as well..
I've got a Logitech Z5400 speaker set, which has a bandwidth of almost 20 kHz (15 Hz up to 20 kHz to be precise, which is a little more than the HiFi standard). I'm quite sure there's no sound system that can produce sound waves with a frequency of 44.1 Hz (at least not for casual users)... However, i could be wrong.
Can anyone confirm?

djgandy

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2006
Sample rate is not frequency response.

Sample rate is how many samples of the sound wave is taken per second.
The higher the sample rate the greater the accuracy of reproduction.

Take CD Audio...

44100 samples per second * 16bits per sample (2bytes)
88200 bytes per second.

2 channel stereo = 88200 * 2 = 176400 bytes/s

djgandy

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2006