Sign in with
Your question

Video Editing System on the cheap

Last response: in Systems
March 19, 2007 2:36:12 PM

A friend of mine wants me to build a video editing system for him. Problem is he only has a budget of about $800.00. Now that being said, he doesn't need a monitor or an OS. Doesn't help a lot but it does a little.

My problem is that I know more about gaming systems than video editing. I have done some reading around the forum and the best bets seem to be focusing on the CPU, RAM and Hard Drives. Anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks for the help.
March 19, 2007 3:20:59 PM

I'm a video editor myself. And yes the main focus of a video editing rig is the hard drives, cpu, and memory. Video cards isn't a big factor but best to get a cheap graphics card as well to take the stress off the system if you plan to go onboard. CPU is the lifeline when it comes to encoding. Ram helps big time on renderings and speed in the editing environment. Hard drives speed also is a huge factor when outputting large files as well as intaking them into a editing application. They all tie together rather well...So try to focus on these aspects the most. 800 dollars is quite a small ammount of money for a editing rig...But it should be possible. They're quite different from budget gaming rigs but let's see what we can do.....

I'm going to edit this post with some new egg links in a little when I have the time...Sorry for the wait but working on a website gig with a deadline so need to get it finished quickly...Just needed a little break so hopped on Toms Hardware. ^.^
March 19, 2007 3:31:51 PM

Yes. Since you already know about hardware...
Video apps are cpu hogs- core 2 duo
They like ram too. Depending of the software: 2Gb is good
And they love also hdd speed to manage through tracks and flile transfers: Raid 0 is nice.

So, on a budget (it's better he knows how to OC, otherwise he needs to spend more on the cpu; or wait more for those renders :wink: ):