Ram for now and the future!

freols

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2007
I have decided a little more so have a new question :oops:
I am in an interim period right now.
Immediately I need some more RAM and a new PSU.

In the near future I will need a new CPU and GPU (and hence a new mobo).

A decent Hiper PSU should work for any future build, but I am a total novice when it comes to RAM.

I currently have 2 x 512mb sticks of Corsair ValueSelect RAM plugged into my Abit AV8 mobo.

I want to buy 2gb of really decent RAM that I can use in my future build. What should I (can I) buy that will work really well in the future but work in my old board. I don't know the difference between DDR and DDR2 btw.

ecosoft

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2004
freols Dude :D
You need to specify ... be absolutely specific ... about what you've "decided a little more" about! What CPU/mobo/case/etc.

As for RAM, well we all B hosed in that department ... DDR cannot be used with a DDR2 mobo, and DDR3 is already in the pipeline! As for rock solid performance with a lifetime warranty go Micron-Crucial Ballistix. Remember here, Micron supplies the vast majority of RAM chips to all of the high $$$ suppliers (OCZ, etc., etc.)

As for power supplies, read this before you "decide" these guys have the whole PS issue nailed flat and their engineering is superb: Power supply myths Also make sure to check their "special offers" as those units also carry a full warranty :)

croc

Distinguished
BANNED
Sep 14, 2005
PC&C is a good PSU company, for sure... BUT what you posted is a marketing blurb, NOT a performance comparison. There are some details in that blurb that are a bit dubious at best.

freols

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2007
OK, so... it sounds like I need to decide what to do in relation to RAM being DDR or DDR2.

Will DDR3 RAM, when it comes out, work in DDR2 mobos?

grifter33

Distinguished
Dec 16, 2006