fatalfidelity

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2007
Sorry I'm a pretty big noob when it comes to certain things about hard drives.
What is RAID? I know it's like multiple hard drives linked onto one thing ( don't even know if that's right ). That's about all I know, can anyone enlighten me?

Gh0stDrag0n

Distinguished
Sep 17, 2006
Something noobs shouldn't mess with..............JK :lol:

RAID = Redundant Array of Inexpensive Drives

Google it. There are many types or configurations of RAID 0/1/0+1/5/10/JBOD/matrix...

In theory it basically means if 1 drive is good, 2 drives are twice as good, and 5 drives are five times better.
RAID configurations are used to increase data read speeds and/or offer greater data protection depending on which setup is used.

mrmez

Splendid
Redundant Array of Independent/Inexpensive Disks

The orig idea (raid 1) was to use 2 or more drives, and write identical data across them, thus largely reducing the chance of data loss.

Ie: One drive has a 5% chance of faliure. Use 2x in RAID the probability of BOTH drives failing halves. Yaay! If one drive does fail the array keeps working 100%, so u can replace the drive with no down time.

More recently raid 0 has been used. This uses striping. much like dual channel ram, spreading the data across both drives. The up side is increased performance. The down side... if 1 drive fails u lose the lot. So your 5% faliure rate doubles to 10%!

(Correct me if im wrong)

U can also use a combo of raid 0+1 type things, but ive never done that.
There is also raid 3,4,5,6 which get a little more complicated.

But its easier to Google such questions :)

joex444

Distinguished
Yes, you can use combinations. Typically these are either 0+1 or 1+0, 0+5 or 5+0. RAID levels 3 and 4 (I believe 2 exists as well) are unused anymore.