Most Powerfull Geforce PCI NON EXPRESS card?

Emile139

Distinguished
Mar 21, 2007
Hello,
My motherboard has a AGP slot and PCI slots. The AGP is installed and all is OK.
I want to add a PCI NON EXPRESS (PCIe is NOT allowed) card.
What is the most powerfull card?
Thanks in advance.

jeff_2087

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2007
I'm no pro on PCI cards but seeing as nobody else is answering, the best I've seen is a Radeon x1550PRO 256mb. I think Diamond made it but I'm not sure.

Why do you want a PCI graphics card anyway?

AdamBomb42

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2006
Hello,
My motherboard has a AGP slot and PCI slots. The AGP is installed and all is OK.
I want to add a PCI NON EXPRESS (PCIe is NOT allowed) card.
What is the most powerfull card?
Thanks in advance.

6200 PCI 256MB

I hope you're not hoping to run them in parallel to boost your graphical power. I say this because it won't work.

gm0n3y

Distinguished
Mar 13, 2006
The only reason that I can think of that you would want a PCI card is to add support for more monitors. Pretty much any PCI card will do this, just don't expect to play games on them.

nottheking

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2006
I personally question why you might want to add a second card. Is it that you want more than 2 displays at once? That's the only potential benefit I might see in adding a PCI video card alongside your AGP one. Another alternative is that one might want to install a 3dfx card to play some old Glide-only games, (like The Elder Scrolls Adventures: Redguard) but given that you said "GeForce" and there are plenty of good, free "Glide Wrappers," there's no reason for that.

Currently, the most powerful PCI card from nVidia is the GeForce 6200. The most powerful from ATi is the decidedly stronger Radeon X1300. Neither is terribly good in their PCI form, though; it's a far cry from AGP, which is not merely faster, but a superior architecture as well with far less latency.