Need suggestions on my build

morenu

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2007
Hi all,

I am a reasonably experienced builder (15 - 20 builds over 10 years)

but I have not built a new system for about 2 years now.

I am using this computer mainly for Gaming & Surfing but I do some LIGHT CAD work on it as well. I have the following items already:

250 GB SATA HD
320 GB IDE HD
Plextor DVD burner IDE
DVD player IDE
2 LCD Panels - one w/ DVI hook-up
Keyboard/mouse/speakers
Win XP pro + MS Office.

What I believe I need (I can spend a Max of $1400 out of pocket after shipping so need to keep it near $1350. Several things in the list below have Mail in rebates to the tune of about $180, that does not change my $1350. I am not a big fan of MiR, would rather get half the rebate automatically instead of having to send in for more $.)-

I have done a lot of research and have a system built at Newegg and made the wishlist public. just search Morenu or use this link (will place as soon as Newegg posts it), or use the links below:

Specs:
Cool Master ATX Mid tower Case
Would love a sturdy case that could travel OK (walk to my neighbor's house) but still handle 2 opticle and 2 HDD minimum.

OCZ 700W Power Supply
Not sure if OCZ is considered a good PSU company or not. I assume that I need at least a 700W for Dual video, 2-4 hard drives and 2 or so USB items...

ECS KN3 SLI2 Motherboard (runs SLI in 16x 16x mode)
Cheapest Motherboard I could find that had the nforce 590 chipset (for 2x 16x PCiE pipes) that also had good feedback.

AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400+
I assume it was better to spend $100 more for my video card from 320mb 8800 to a 640mb OC'd card then to up this to 5600+.

OCZ silver CPU thermal compound
Its Thermal paste...

Cool Master CPU cooler
Better than the stock fan... Not looking to OC a ton if at all. would like the option to a little bit if I feel like it.

EVGA 8800GTS 640mb superclocked