E6400 3DMark performance question

bossman34

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2007
Hey all, I'm new to these boards and I'm new to the PC building world. I just successfully (mostly) built my first PC (Specs below) and ran it through a few tests and benchmarks including 3DMark. While my overall score definitely improved over my old P4 system, I noticed that my CPU performance is severly lacking compared to other similar setups. Out of 26 comparable systems, I ranked 25. That wouldn't really bother me except that my CPU score was consistently half of every other system including the guy below my score! I didn't look through all of the scores, but most were at stock speeds. Any ideas! Thanks in advance!

Core 2 Duo E6400
MSI P6N SLi Platinum
EVGA 8800 GTS 320 Superclocked
2 gig Corsair XMS2 @ 675

corvetteguy

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2006
Yup, 3DMark 06. My overall score was 6719 and cpu score was only 973 (about half)

8O 8O 8O

Hmmm, do you have any other benchmarking software or games you can test your frame rate at or anything? Thats really really low, even stock my cpu score was 1400.

Actually, check what resolution you ran the test at. That could have something to do with it.

bossman34

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2007
I ran the tests at default settings so it ran at 1280 x 1024. I also ran a benchmark test on PC Wizard which showed sub-par performance as well. Any other good benchmark software?

I just thought of something else...could it be related to the power supply? There is an 8-pin connector for the CPU supply, but 4 of the pins are semi covered by a plastic piece. I couldn't find jack in the mobo manual so i just inserted the 4 pin connector from the PSU as shown in the PSU manual. Could this be it?

I have an Ultra X-Finity SLi 600 Watt, btw.

corvetteguy

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2006
I ran the tests at default settings so it ran at 1280 x 1024. I also ran a benchmark test on PC Wizard which showed sub-par performance as well. Any other good benchmark software?