trouble installing windows on my new pc

jonnnnnnnnnnn

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2006
I am a first time builder that is having a great time working on my new machine. however, I have encountered a problem while trying to install windows xp to my system. Here is the situation:

1)Computer is completely built and BIOS is configured, the next step is to install windows.
2)I have a Widows Upgrade that has already been used on another computer in my house and a Window ME disk so I can use the upgrade.
3)The install works fine until the end of the final installation of window. Windows should go right to the "welcome to windows screen" so i can hit the next button and so on. On my computer, the computer reboots once the installation is complete and goes to a screen that says something like "sorry for the inconvenience, but windows could not start. This may be do to recent hardware or software changes in your system". The screen gives several options:

start windows in safe mode, start windows normally, start windows at the last working settings etc...

Inevitably, the computer reboots after 30 seconds and gets stuck on the same screen.

4)I have run hard drive tests as well as memtest to test my ram, and the computer has passed.

Any information you could give me on this problem would be greatly appreciated.

pscowboy

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2002
For some reason, something got corrupted during the install. Wipe the hd and start over.

FYI, you cannot legally run the same XP copy on two machines at the same time. You will only be able to get updates & patches on one.

jonnnnnnnnnnn

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2006
ive tryed the install several times, once with an XP update and once with a CD that came with my brothers computer all leading to the same result. Does anyone think that if i just bought windows for myself the problem would go away...i dont see how this would make a difference during the actual install.

pscowboy

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2002