absolute linux confusion - no doubt about it

bigbadwolf

Distinguished
Feb 17, 2006
ok i am thinkin bout installing SUSE linux on my new pc that i am building, but i have never used linux before. so i was looking for linux compatible, video players, and came across the 'best' called MPlayer. only the download isnt exactly simple if you have no experience of linux. what do i actually need to do/download/burn etc in order to run this program on linux, do i have to compile it myself?, is there a different kind of .exe file for linux?, coz i heard they use a different file extension for executable files. man im confused bout this whole linux thing

linux_0

Splendid
ok i am thinkin bout installing SUSE linux on my new pc that i am building, but i have never used linux before. so i was looking for linux compatible, video players, and came across the 'best' called MPlayer. only the download isnt exactly simple if you have no experience of linux. what do i actually need to do/download/burn etc in order to run this program on linux, do i have to compile it myself?, is there a different kind of .exe file for linux?, coz i heard they use a different file extension for executable files. man im confused bout this whole linux thing

Well there might be a SuSE package of mplayer somewhere.

www.mplayerhq.hu has Fedora RPMs but that isn't going to help you.

Check the SuSE repositories.

I can walk you thru the installation process but I would need to know what packages you've installed already ( you need a lot of development packages ).

If you want I could also ssh into your Linux box share the screen with you and compile it for you. That would require a high speed internet connection tho.

Zach_the_Evil

Distinguished
Nov 5, 2005