Sign in with
Your question

What determines text quality?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 28, 2007 11:56:00 PM

I'm new to the home-built world -- one barebones and one from motherboard so far, both via Newegg -- and would be grateful for advice on an add-on video card for the mobo system.

My question -- what determines text quality?

I have a 20" Dell LCD display (http://tinyurl.com/kkvwf) that I use at 1600 x 1200 to maximize screen real estate. I use the D-Sub interface because it's on a 4-way KVM switch. One system with this display, a 3-year old Dell with GeForce FX 5200 w 128MB, gives pretty decent text. The recent homebuilt with on-board GeForce 6100 is fuzzy enough to annoy me, almost as bad my Dell 15" Inspiron with "ultrasharp WSXGA" screen and Intel 900.

If I want to add a video card, what do I look for to guarantee good, sharp text? Any advice would be gratefully received, including specific boards. I'm more developer than gamer, so don't need super-high-performance. I would like to keep the cost down, though not necessarily rock bottom.

Thanks. --David.
March 29, 2007 12:46:51 AM

This might sound pretty stupid, but did you disable Clear Type font in the appearance options?
March 29, 2007 1:28:20 AM

The only stupid question is one you don't ask! :lol: 

I just double-checked, and all 3 windoze systems I mentioned have checked -- "Use the following method to smooth edges of screen fonts -- ClearType".

Thanks --David.
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
March 29, 2007 1:36:47 AM

perhaps the native res is 1650 or 1680 x ?

and going through a KVM may also cut quality at such a high res
March 29, 2007 2:25:54 AM

text quality is usually determined by resolution and the quality of your monitor

to get the best quality you need to run at the native resolution of the monitor