HELP installing motherboard !!!!!!!!!

markish

Distinguished
Oct 10, 2006
hi this is my first build and at the moment i am screwing the motherboard onto the case and im not sure if im supposed to just screw the screws directly on the case in the holes indicated in the motherboard manual with the little washer type things that came with it or not? the manual says nothing about using them while screwing the motherboard onto the case. wont screwing the motherboard in the holes they tell me to without the washer things cause a electrical problem and maybe screw up my mother board?

board- ASUS P5B-E

jason7655

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2007
I've only done a case change...but the motherboard sat on the gold screws and then the silver screws I used to screw the motherboard into place.

markish

Distinguished
Oct 10, 2006
ya thats exactly what i have. there are gold things underneath the motherboard and then the motherboard sits on that and then screw the screws directly into the gold things in the coresponding holes where the manual says?

utaka95

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2006
Motherboards generally have an area around the screw that is isolated from any traces. So using the washers is really a matter of personal choice IMHO. My concern is, your post doesn't mention the brass standoffs most usually used to elevate the board (and the screws actually thread into). That would be a much bigger concern than the little paper washers. Or more to the point - you don't want to screw your board directly to the motherboard tray - there should be about 1/4 inch clearance between the bottom of the board and the case.

markish

Distinguished
Oct 10, 2006