64 athlon - windows 32 bit issues

edotom

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2007
Hi

I seem to have an strange behaviour when copying files on my 64 bit athlon pc with 32 operating system.

Aparently it doesn't copy files the right way.
I'm new to 64 processors.
Should I use a 64 bit operating system only?
doesn't it work right over 32 bit operating systems?

cryogenic

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2006
Hi

I seem to have an strange behaviour when copying files on my 64 bit athlon pc with 32 operating system.

Aparently it doesn't copy files the right way.
I'm new to 64 processors.
Should I use a 64 bit operating system only?
doesn't it work right over 32 bit operating systems?

It works perfectly with 32 bit OSes. It is least likely that the problem is from CPU, and most likely a bad or conflicting driver for the ide bus. (these drivers are usually built into windows and not offered by vendors)

utaka95

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2006
Moreover if it is an IDE driver issue - then I surmise that you have an nForce Motherboard. The Nvidia IDE driver has been a problem since nforce1. If you can get it to uninstall (Nvidia's IDE driver) the windows generic IDE driver should function perfectly.

edotom

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2007
the problem occurs when copying files from the network.
I happened too with a parner which recently updated his computer to athlon 64.
The other computers don't have this issue. Just the ones with brand new 64 bit processors.
It also happened with internet downloaded files

edotom

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2007
I use zone alarm
Other computers on the net use it and they have no problem with backups an iso files as we do over our powerful 64 athlons

Grimmy

Splendid
Feb 20, 2006
Might help if you explain what MB your using, and if your using more the 1 network card or nic that is on the MB.

Have you checked for any updated drivers (Nic/chipset/bios) you could D/L onto another system that could either fit on another media storage? (floppy, USB pen, or burned to CD)