snapshot7.jpg

SuSE

http://www.novell.com/linux/

http://mirrors.kernel.org/

http://distrowatch.com/dwres.php?resource=major

choknuti

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2006
This is a question that I’m throwing at all u Linux gurus.

I am a windozs, BSD and Linux (to a lesser extent) user, using slackware and FreeBSD but am looking for a good easy distro for a windows user to get into. Doing some open source preaching here. There are some who are interested but they complain about the setup. I am a terrible teacher so therefore I am looking for the easy distro.

It should be minimalist without too many choices in the initial setup. While it is a good thing that
Linux offers you sooooooo many choices this doesn’t help the newbies. Is there one where it sets everything up like windozs where the user is prompted only for personal info, password and root password (maybe network settings).

Thanks in advance.

linux_0

Splendid
This is a question that I’m throwing at all u Linux gurus.

I am a windozs, BSD and Linux (to a lesser extent) user, using slackware and FreeBSD but am looking for a good easy distro for a windows user to get into. Doing some open source preaching here. There are some who are interested but they complain about the setup. I am a terrible teacher so therefore I am looking for the easy distro.

It should be minimalist without too many choices in the initial setup. While it is a good thing that
Linux offers you sooooooo many choices this doesn’t help the newbies. Is there one where it sets everything up like windozs where the user is prompted only for personal info, password and root password (maybe network settings).

Thanks in advance.

One could argue that the Live CD distros are the friendliest because they do not require installing or major configuration. Naturally the downside is you do not normally have permanent storage.

choknuti

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2006
Good Idea!