I need alot of help!

JennyLegg

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2006
I was advised to use this site from another Sims Fan. I am very new at this so don't expect me to know anything.
When The Sims 2 first came out I brought the game (my system meets all the specs) after a few days the game started to crash. I contacted EA Games for help and was told to update drivers, reinstall the Game and turn off all anti-virus and firewall software to play the game. I did so.
But still the game kept crashing. I then was told by EA Games to install a new patch to the game. I tried and the patch came up with an error every time it got to the file packageinstaller.exe. I then tried the Sims 2 community and got serveral completely different things to try, some more useful than others. After a long time of trying to get help, I was told to reformate my hard drive. Which with aid I did. But still the game kept crashing. And to add to this now my computer crashes for no reason and when I do send error reports to microsoft I get messages back saying corrupt error messages can be caused by faulty RAM. So I used a test which is supposed to find any faults or errors on the RAM and I set it to do the longest one so it did a complete check, but no errors are found.
These recent errors have happen when I was doing nothing simalar to the other crashes (like random errors). I've had programs freeze up, computer not responding, blue screens, application errors, restarting, screen going black for a few seconds and microsoft error reporter seems to come up every time I turn on the computer.
I am thinking that they might be something seriously wrong with this computer and I really don't what to be told that I have to pay out thousands to get it fixed.
So any help wanted (as long as its free or very close to being free)

Thanks any relpies.