Your question

Whats your favoriet Distro and why?

Tags:
  • Mandriva
  • Distribution
  • Linux
Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
May 2, 2006 3:29:23 PM

I was wondering what was the prefered distros of thouse with more Linux skills than I. As I'm new to Linux and have only tried Mandriva 2006. So please tell us all what your favoriet Disrto is and why.

More about : whats favoriet distro

a b 5 Linux
May 2, 2006 9:21:32 PM

Quote:
I was wondering what was the preferred distros of those with more Linux skills than I. As I'm new to Linux and have only tried Mandriva 2006. So please tell us all what your favorite Distro is and why.

I love them all. Once you know Linux / Unix you can work with any distro.

The consensus is Ubuntu is great for beginners.

Other distros include CentOS, Fedora, SuSE, Mandriva, Xandros, Linspire, Debian, Knoppix, Gentoo, Slackware and many more.

Check out:

http://forumz.tomshardware.com/software/User-friendly-d...

and

http://distrowatch.com/

Good Luck :-D
May 4, 2006 2:39:22 AM

I'm a relative noob (about a year) but I've been using SuSE since 9.1 Pro. I've upgraded with each offering (now 10.0) and I like it a lot. It's friendly enough to get up and running quickly and with it, you can be productive in no time. I prefer StarOffice to OpenOffice though the former must be purchased where the latter is free.

I have one box that I dual boot with XP when I wanna play games but rarely do I. I'm typing this one a Linux only box networked to the other via wireless router. I'm sharing files, a printer and secure all at the same time.

I've tried the old RedHat (prior to Fedora) and even Corel Linux many years ago. This one I like and it's good enough to virtually get me off Windows entirely!
Related resources
a b 5 Linux
May 4, 2006 2:51:47 AM

Quote: