ASUS P5B DELUXE NORTHBRIDGE COOLING

Roughneck

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2005
I'm currently working on my first overclocking project. I have an Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi motherboard with a C2D E4300. The processor and the hard drives are water cooled, the rest is air cooling.

I'm using the stock NB / voltage rectifier heat pipe/heat sink thingy with the included fan. I'm wondering if I should be concernd about this considering that I've OC'ed the NB 133 MHz...

Is there any way to check the temp of your NB? How come I really never hear people talk about that? Is stock cooling enough, or should I beef it up?

What about just attaching a small fan to the NB heatsink? Alternatively, I have a Thermalright HR-05 from an older rig that I could use, but then I'd have to lose the cooler on the voltage rectifiers since it is an integrated unit with the NB cooler.

As you can see, I'm a total newb with this OCing thing. Please let me know your thoughts.

prong

Distinguished
Apr 1, 2007
I'm currently working on my first overclocking project. I have an Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi motherboard with a C2D E4300. The processor and the hard drives are water cooled, the rest is air cooling.

I'm using the stock NB / voltage rectifier heat pipe/heat sink thingy with the included fan. I'm wondering if I should be concernd about this considering that I've OC'ed the NB 133 MHz...

Is there any way to check the temp of your NB? How come I really never hear people talk about that? Is stock cooling enough, or should I beef it up?

What about just attaching a small fan to the NB heatsink? Alternatively, I have a Thermalright HR-05 from an older rig that I could use, but then I'd have to lose the cooler on the voltage rectifiers since it is an integrated unit with the NB cooler.

As you can see, I'm a total newb with this OCing thing. Please let me know your thoughts.